2015: AS THE CURTAINS CLOSE.

2015 

2014 had been a long bumpy ride which made me pray for a better 2015.

Truthfully, I really didn’t work towards a better year. I forgot God helps those who help themselves. And then it started – slow, fun, then a major roller coaster of ups and downs.

Elections over, NYSC broke my heart by sending me to the core North, I had lived all my life in the North so I thought… sigh… anyway, up North I went. All plans of making the very best use of my service year blew away with the dust of sandy city of Katsina.

The first week was dreadful, I would spend my free time at the mammy market (not marrying but crying in the arms of a dear friend who happened to sell the best noodles) then I’d go back at the hostel as if I was the strong one.

Settling down after camp was hell as I didn’t redeploy, I experienced my first flood and a whole different lifestyle. I soon accepted and drowned in it all.

August came around and I up and left for Imo. It had been fifteen long years since I last saw my grandma, the only grandparent left. Imo was fun what with palm wine, bush meat, partying, new yam festival and generally having a tour of the city.

September 14th was dreaded, it was the day I turned 25. With many dreams still unachieved, I broke down. Things weren’t the way they were ‘post to be and luckily true friends came through.

 

Here’s what I’m thankful for and what 2015 taught me;

  • To totally depend on one person, The Almighty. I learned to accept, appreciate Him in every situation even when I wasn’t seeing any physical positive growth.
  • I neither was dead, bedridden nor involved in any accidents. 2013 and 2014 had been a hospital affair but this year I had no cause to visit a hospital.
  • I also learned to know and listen to my instincts, as fear sometimes is confused for instincts.
  • I learned to shut doors; now in time past I’ll do the tom and jerry thing of closing doors with planks nailed all over and furniture all up against the door, but I knew a door was still behind and I sometimes went back to pulling the furniture and opening the door. Now, I’ve learned to stare at the door till it disappears…magic eyh? Wink!
  • I learned that black Friday is scam…well except for the outdoor Payporte thingy.

2015 firsts;

  • I went to Kano and Katsina.
  • I attended a movie premiere; Royal Arts Academy’s #SpotlightTheMovie.
  • I experienced flooding.
  • Oh, I got born again.
  • I burned bridges and scattered the ashes.
  • I started jogging (not a first though but after Lagos conductors and drivers almost…anyway it still makes it as a first…in 2015) even though it ended as soon as it began.

This is to hoping, praying and working towards a better 2016, 2015 resolutions spilling over.

 

Leave a comment